Patrick Jones County Member Pamelyn Morgan

City Member

Stan Neutze

City Member

Vacant Special District Member

County Member Alternate

Ronnean Lund Special District Member

Mary Rickert



Larry Russell Public Member

Kevin W. Crye County Member

Fred Ryness

Special District Alternate

Executive Officer

James M. Underwood General Counsel

Public Member Alternate

Michael Spencer

George Williamson

Michael Dacquisto City Member Alternate

Agenda Item: 9.b

DATE: December 7, 2023

TO: Special Districts Representatives, Shasta LAFCO Commissioners

FROM: George Williamson Executive Officer

SUBJECT: Notice of Special District Election Results

A request for nominations for Seat 1 and the Alternate, for the 2024-2028 term, was sent to Special Districts, providing the opportunity to nominate candidates. The nomination request was resent on September 6th with the nomination period ending on October 3rd, 2023, and Shasta LAFCO received five (5) nominations for Seat 1 and one Alternate nomination. Subsequently, an official ballot was mailed on October 10th 2023, providing each Special District the opportunity to vote for a candidate. The due date for the return of ballots was extended to December 5th, 2023.

Tabulation of the ballots will be conducted on December 6th. The term of office for this Special District election will be January 2024 - January 2028. The Seat 1 candidates included on the ballot are listed below:

<u>Candidate</u>	<u>District</u>
Steve Brown	Cottonwood Fire Protection District
Patricia A. "Trish" Clarke	Anderson Fire Protection District
Josh Mack	Millville Volunteer Fire Protection District
Fred Ryness	Burney Water District
James "Jim" Smith	Bella Vista Water District
Rosemary Smith	Shasta Lake Fire Protection District

The Alternate candidate included on the ballot was: Rosemary Smith

Shasta Lake Fire Protection District

The results of the elections will be announced at the December 7th, 2023 Regular Commission meeting with the successful candidates seated in January 2024. In the event that a quorum of ballots is not received, the voting period will be extended, and all eligible special districts will be notified.

Thank you to all that participated in the Special District election. The results of the Special District balloting will be available on the website at <u>http://www.shastalafco.org/resources/special-district-election</u>. Please feel free to contact staff for any questions you may have.

cc: Shasta LAFCO Commissioners Jim Underwood, Shasta LAFCO General Counsel