Corkey Harmon
County Member
Chris Kelstrom
County Member
City Member
City Member
City Member

Allen Long Pam Morgan
County Member Alternate City Member Alternate



Fred Ryness Special District Member

Ronnean Lund Special District Member

Rosemary Smith Special District Alternate Larry Russell Public Member

Michael Spencer Public Member Alternate

AGENDA ITEM 9.A

Date: June 5, 2025

From: Krystle Brogna, Executive Officer

Subject: Discussion of Letter Requesting Change of Composition for Shasta LAFCO

The Commission will discuss the letter sent to State Senate and Assembly

representatives concerning the composition of Shasta LAFCO.

BACKGROUND

The Cortese-Knox-Hertzberg Local Government Reorganization Act of 2000 (CKH Act) is the principal act that governs LAFCOs throughout the state. It defines the powers, composition, and processes for LAFCO. Specifically, Government Code (G.C.) Section 56325 specifies the general composition of LAFCO as follows:

- Two (2) Commission members appointed by the Board of Supervisors from their own membership and one (1) alternate.
- Two (2) Commission members appointed by the cities in the county, each of whom shall be a mayor or council member, appointed by the City Selection Committee, and one (1) alternate.
- Two (2) Commission members who are presiding officers or members of legislative bodies of independent special districts, appointed by the independent special district selection committee pursuant to G.C. Section 56332, and one (1) alternate.
- One (1) Commission member representing the general public appointed by the other members of the Commission, and one (1) alternate.

This composition provides for a seven (7) member commission with equal representation from county, city, and special district members, and with public member representation. It also provides for one (1) alternate for each category so that in the event a regular member cannot attend, a voting member representing that category may still participate in the meeting. The term of office of each member shall be four years (G.C. Section 56334).

There are five exceptions to the composition as defined in CKH Act which were enacted by special legislation. These exceptions are for each of the counties listed below:

• G.C. Section 56326 - Los Angeles County
Two (2) county members, one (1) resident of the San Fernando Valley Statistical Area, two (2) appointed by the city selection committee, one (1) appointed city member from a legislative body having a population in excess of 30 percent of the total population of the county, two (2) special district members, and one (1) public member, for a total of nine (9) commission members.

- G.C. Section 56326.5 Sacramento County
 Two (2) county members, one (1) City of Sacramento member, one (1) regular city member, two
 (2) special district members, and one (1) public member, for a total of seven (7) commission
 members.
- G.C. Section 56327 Santa Clara County
 Two (2) county members, one (1) city member from the city with the largest population, one (1) regular city member, and one (1) public member who is not a resident of cities already represented on the commission, for a total of five (5) commission members.
- G.C. Section 56328 San Diego County
 Two (2) county members, two (2) regular city members, one (1) city member from the city with the largest population, two (2) special district members, and one (1) public member, for a total of eight (8) commission members.
- G.C. Section 56328.5 Kern County
 Two (2) county members, two (2) regular city members, one (1) city member from the city with the largest population, two (2) special district members, and (2) public members, for a total of nine (9) commission members.

There are also provisions in the CKH Act for counties that do not have cities such as Trinity County, and those that do not have special district representation. To alter the composition of a specific LAFCO, special legislation would need to be passed by the state legislature and approved by the governor to amend the CKH Act.

DISCUSSION

At the April 19, 2024, Shasta County Mayors' City Selection Committee Special Meeting, the attending members made the following recommendation:

"By motion made, seconded (Neutze/Powell), and unanimously carried, the Mayors' City Selection Committee recommended changing the city membership of the Shasta County Local Agency Formation Commission (LAFCO) from two members and one alternate to three members, to reflect the three incorporated cities within Shasta County and to provide permanent representation on the LAFCO board for all three cities."

As stated above, in order to change the composition for Shasta County, special legislation for a statutory change to the CKH Act would be required. In order to introduce a bill for this change, a representative of the state assembly or senate would need to sponsor a bill and introduce it as part of the new legislative cycle. These cycles typically occur over two years and require authorship of the bill, lobbying to garner support, and continued coordination of legislative staff as the bill moves through both the assembly and senate prior to being presented to the governor for signature.

During the June 6th, 2024, LAFCO meeting, the Commission discussed the Mayors' City Selection Committee request including potential options for balancing the Commission by including another special district or public member in addition to an extra city member. The item was continued to the August 1, 2025, regular meeting where the Commission decided to pursue special legislation and

Agenda Item 9.a. June 5, 2025

directed Legal Counsel with assistance from the Executive Officer to send a letter to state legislators. The action, as recorded in the adopted August 1, 2024, meeting minutes, was as follows:

Motion Garman/ Neutze to pursue changing the composition of Shasta LAFCO to include one city member from each of the three cities in the county, with one alternate, and three regular special district members, with one alternate, in addition to the regular and alternate county and public members on the Commission, and directing staff to write a letter of support that can be provided to state legislators.

Motion passed by a 7-0-0 voice vote.

Subsequent to this action, a letter requesting special legislation was sent to Senator Brian Dahle and Assemblywoman Megan Dahle (Attachment A). The Executive Officer followed up with staff from each office but to date, no reply has been received. Additionally, during the last election, Megan Dahle was elected Senator of District 6, and Heather Hadwick was elected as Assemblywoman for District 1.

RECOMMENDATION

The Commission is invited to hold discussion on the prior request for special legislation and provide direction to staff as needed.

Attachments

Attachment A - Letter to Senator Dahle and Assemblywoman Dahle (October 3, 2024)

Agenda Item 9.a. June 5, 2025