Les Baugh County Member Larry Farr City Member Stan Neutze

ounty Member Special District Special Di

City Member Alternate Francie Sullivan City Member Irwin Fust Special District Member

Mary Rickert County Member Alternate

Brenda Haynes Special District Member



Larry Russell Public Member

David Kehoe County Member

Patricia A. Clarke Special District Alternate Katharine Ann Campbell Public Member Alternate George Williamson Executive Officer James M. Underwood General Counsel Kathy Bull

Manager

Agenda Item: 9.d.

Meeting Date: September 6, 2018

From: Kathy Bull, Office Manager

Subject: RDA Oversight Consolidation – Special District Election Results

## **Background**

Pursuant to California Health and Safety Code Section 34179(j), beginning on July 1, 2018, a single consolidated oversight board will replace the three oversight boards to the Successor Agencies of the former redevelopment agencies in Shasta County. This single consolidated oversight board will consist of seven appointed members including one member representing Independent Special Districts.

## **Discussion**

There are nine Special Districts identified by Shasta County Auditor Controller who are eligible to nominate and select a Special District Representative to serve on the Shasta County Consolidated RDA Oversight Board. The eligible Special Districts are as follows: Anderson-Cottonwood Irrigation District; Anderson Cemetery District; Anderson Fire Protection District; Bella Vista Water District; Buckeye Fire Protection District; Millville Masonic Cemetery District; Shasta Lake Fire Protection District; Shasta Mosquito and Vector Control District; and Western Shasta Resource Conservation District.

A Call for Nominations was distributed March 15, 2018 and Shasta LAFCO received three nominations; Patricia Clarke; Ann Morningstar; and Frank Shabarum. On May 3, 2018, a balloting letter was distributed with a due date to return ballots by June 15, 2018. After tallying the votes on June 18, 2018, it was determined the successful candidate for the Special District Representative of the Shasta County Consolidated RDA Oversight Board was Patricia A. Clarke.

Staff has since provided information on the nominated Representative to the eligible Special District and interested parties before the July 1<sup>st</sup> deadline.

## Recommendation

This is an informational item with no action from the Commission required.

Attachment: Election Results Letter

Les Baugh County Member Larry Farr

City Member Stan Neutze City Member Alternate

Francie Sullivan City Member Irwin Fust Special District Member

Mary Rickert County Member Alternate

Brenda Haynes Special District Member



Larry Russell Public Member

David Kehoe County Member

Patricia A. Clarke Special District Alternate Katharine Ann Campbell
Public Member Alternate
George Williamson
Executive Officer
James M. Underwood
General Counsel

Kathy Bull Office Manager

Date: June 18, 2018

To: Anderson-Cottonwood Irrigation District

Anderson Cemetery District Anderson Fire Protection District

Bella Vista Water District

Buckeye Fire Protection District Millville Masonic Cemetery District Shasta Lake Fire Protection District

Shasta Mosquito and Vector Control District Western Shasta Resource Conservation District

From: Kathy Bull, Office Manager

Subject: Special District Shasta County Consolidated Redevelopment Agency (RDA) Oversight Board

**Election Results** 

Previously, a request for nominations was sent to eligible Special Districts on March 15, 2018, which provided the opportunity to nominate candidates to fill a seat on the Special District Shasta County Consolidated Redevelopment Agency (RDA) Oversight Board. The nomination period ended on April 30, 2018, with three (3) nominations received by the deadline. Subsequently, an official ballot was mailed on May 2, 2018, which provided each eligible Special District the opportunity to vote for a candidate. The deadline to return ballots was June 15, 2018, in order to receive a quorum of ballots from Special Districts.

Tabulation of the ballots was conducted on Monday, June 18, 2018 with 7 out of the 9 eligible Special Districts submitting ballots. This seat does not have a term of office, as Health and Safety Code Section 34179(9) specifies: "Each member of an oversight board shall serve at the pleasure of the entity that appointed such member." The results of the ballot count are listed below;

Candidate	District	Votes
Patricia A. Clarke	Anderson Fire Protection District	4
Ann Morningstar	Shasta Mosquito & Vector Control District	2
Frank Schabarum	Bella Vista Water District	1

The successful candidate for the Special District Representative of the Shasta County Consolidated RDA Oversight Board is Patricia A. Clarke. The first meeting of the Shasta County Consolidated RDA Oversight Board is scheduled for July 9, 2018. The newly elected Special District Representative will be acknowledged at the next Shasta LAFCO Commission meeting scheduled for August 2, 2018.

Thank you to all that participated in the Special District election. The results of this Special District Representative balloting will be available upon request and at the next scheduled Commission meeting. Please feel free to contact staff at (530) 242-1112 for any guestions you may have.

Cc: Shasta LAFCO Commissioners George Williamson, Shasta LAFCO Executive Officer Jim Underwood, General Counsel Sheryl Jenkins, Shasta County