Les Baugh County Member Larry Farr City Member Alter

Larry Farr City Member Alternate Stan Neutze City Member

Julie Winter City Member Irwin Fust Special District Member

Mary Rickert County Member Alternate

Brenda Haynes Special District Member



Larry Russell Public Member

Joe Chimenti County Member

Patricia A. Clarke Special District Alternate Katharine Ann Campbell Public Member Alternate George Williamson Executive Officer James M. Underwood General Counsel

Kathy Bull Manager

## Agenda Item: 9.b.

Meeting Date: April 4, 2019

From: George Williamson, Executive Officer & Kathy Bull, Office Manager

**Subject:** Consider Executive Committee Member Appointment

## **Background:**

Shasta LAFCO Policy and Procedures, Chapter 1 provides that an Executive Committee meets as needed to discuss agency budgets and other agency issues and serves in an advisory role to the full Commission. The Executive Committee is comprised of the Chairman, Vice-Chairman and one other commission member. The third member should represent a commissioner type (County, City, Special District, Public) not already represented by the chair and vice-chair.

## **Discussion:**

The current members of the Executive Committee include the Chairman appointed today at the April 4<sup>th</sup> meeting and Joe Chimenti, Vice-Chairman (County). Les Baugh, (County) was a member of the Executive Committee and upon appointment of Joe Chimenti as Vice-Chairman, Les Baugh has resigned the position within the Executive Committee to abide by Shasta LAFCO Policy and Procedures. The vacant position should therefore, according to policy, be filled with either a City, Special District or Public member.

## **Recommendation:**

Staff recommends the Commission appoint a third Commissioner to the Executive Committee as provided for in Chapter 1 of the Shasta LAFCO Policies and Procedures, or provide staff direction as needed.