Patrick Jones Irwin Fust County Member Special District Member Pamelyn Morgan Mary Rickert

Stan Neutze City Member Michael Dacquisto

City Member Alternate

City Member

Ronnean Lund Special District Member

County Member Alternate



Larry Russell Public Member

Kevin W. Crye County Member

Fred Ryness Special District Alternate

Michael Spencer Public Member Alternate

Agenda Item 9.b.

George Williamson **Executive Officer** James M. Underwood

> General Counsel Kathy Bull Manager

DATE: March 29, 2023

> TO: **Special Districts Representatives**

FROM: Kathy Bull, Manager

SUBJECT: Notice of Special District Election Results

A Special District vacancy occurred due to a Special District member not being re-elected to their District Board. Therefore, the process to elect a new Regular Commission member was initiated to serve the remainder of the existing term ending January 2024. A request for nominations was sent to Special Districts on December 9, 2022, providing the opportunity to nominate candidates to fill the regular Special District member (seat 2). The nomination period ended on February 1, 2023, and Shasta LAFCO received seven (7) nominations. Subsequently, an official ballot was mailed on February 3, 2023, providing each Special District the opportunity to vote for a candidate. The deadline for the return of ballots was March 27, 2023.

Tabulation of the ballots was conducted on Tuesday, March 28, 2023 with 23 out of 34 Special Districts submitting ballots. The term of office for this Special District election expires January 2024. The results of the ballot count are listed below;

<u>Candidate</u>	<u>District</u>	<u>Votes</u>
Steve Brown	Cottonwood Fire Protection District	1
Patricia A. "Trish" Clarke	Anderson Fire Protection District	4
Ronnean Lund	Anderson Cottonwood Irrigation District	7
Josh Mack	Millville Volunteer Fire Protection District	2
Fred Ryness	Burney Water District	5
James [*] Jim" Smith	Bella Vista Water District	3
Rosemary Smith	Shasta Lake Fire Protection District	1

The successful candidate for regular Special District Commissioner is Ronnean Lund from the Anderson Cottonwood Irrigation District. The newly elected regular Special District Commissioner will be seated at the next Shasta LAFCO Commission meeting scheduled for April 6, 2023.

Thank you to all that participated in the Special District election. The results of the Special District balloting are available on the website at http://www.shastalafco.org/resources/special-district-election. Please feel free to contact staff at (530) 242-1112 for any questions you may have.

A separate nomination and balloting period for a four-year term beginning in 2024 will be conducted near the end of this year for the selection of two (2) Regular Special District Members and one (1) Alternate Special District Member.

cc: Shasta LAFCO Commissioners George Williamson, Executive Officer Jim Underwood, Shasta LAFCO General Counsel