Patrick Jones County Member Pamelyn Morgan

Pamelyn Morgan City Member Alternate

City Member
Michael Dacquisto
City Member

Stan Neutze

Irwin Fust Special District Member

Mary Rickert County Member Alternate

Brenda Haynes Special District Member



Larry Russell Public Member

Joe Chimenti County Member

Fred Ryness Special District Alternate Katharine Ann Campbell Public Member Alternate George Williamson Executive Officer

> James M. Underwood General Counsel

> > Kathy Bull Manager

Agenda Item: 8.c.

Meeting Date: December 1, 2022

From: George Williamson, Executive Officer & Kathy Bull, Office Manager

**Subject:** Commissioner Terms of Office

### Background:

The Commissioner term of office for each member pursuant to CKH Act § 56334 is four years and until the appointment of a successor. Any commission member vacancy shall be filled for the unexpired term by appointment by the body that originally appointed member whose membership has become vacant.

#### **Discussion:**

There are two Commissioner terms which are expiring: the Special District Regular Member – Seat 2 and the Public Member Alternate.

### 1. Public Member Alternate:

Currently, the Public Member Alternate is expiring in January 2023. Staff will circulate a Notice of Opportunity inviting interested members of the general public to submit an application for appointment to this position. The deadline for receipt of applications is January 23, 2023 and interviews will be scheduled and conducted at the February 2, 2023 Commission Meeting. Below are the current Commission Members terms and actions, if needed, for future terms/vacancies:

Public Member – appointed:			
Member	Term	Member	
Type	End		
Regular	1/2024	Commissioner Russell	
Alternate	1/2023	Commissioner Campbell	

### 2. Special District Regular Member – Seat 2

The Special District Member selection process is set forth in Government Code § 56332. This provides for a meeting of representatives from each of the Shasta County independent special districts unless the Executive Officer determines that a meeting is not feasible, due to the likelihood that a quorum would not be achieved. In that case, both the nominating process and the election are conducted by the Executive Officer on behalf of the Independent Special District Selection Committee.

Currently, the Special District Regular Member – Seat 2 will expire December 2, 2022 and Shasta LAFCO will begin the nomination and election process. The elected candidate will fill the position for the remainder of the term which ends January 2024. Below are the current Commission Members terms and actions, if needed, for future terms/vacancies:

eo@shastalafco.org

Special Districts – elected:					
Member Type	Term End	District/City	Member		
Regular-Seat 1	1/2024	Clear Creek CSD	Board Member Fust		
Regular-Seat 2	1/2024	A.C.I.D.	Board Member Haynes		
Alternate	1/2024	Burney WD	Board Member Ryness		

# **Recommendation:**

It is recommended that the Commission direct staff to:

- 1. Proceed in accepting applications from the general public with interviews taking place at the next regular Commission Meeting.
- 2. Proceed with the following election schedule to fill the Special District Regular Member Seat 2.

# **Election Schedule**

Action	Date of Action	
Shasta LAFCO request for nominations mailed to independent Special Districts via certified mail and email.	Mailed by December 15, 2022	
Nominations due to Shasta LAFCO	Received by 4:00 p.m. February 1, 2023	
Ballots mailed to independent Special Districts via certified mail and email.	Mailed by February 3, 2023	
Ballots due to Shasta LAFCO	Received by 4:00 p.m. March 27, 2023	
Ballots opened and tallied at the Shasta LAFCO office; successful candidate notified	By March 28, 2023	
Election results mailed to independent Special Districts via U.S. mail and email.	Mailed by March 29, 2022	