Les Baugh County Member

Stan Neutze

City Member

City Member

Michael Dacquisto

Pamelyn Morgan City Member Alternate

Mary Rickert County Member Alternate

Irwin Fust

Brenda Haynes Special District Member

Special District Member



Larry Russell Public Member

Joe Chimenti County Member

Fred Ryness Special District Alternate Katharine Ann Campbell Public Member Alternate

> George Williamson Executive Officer

James M. Underwood General Counsel

> Kathy Bull Manager

Agenda Item: 9.a.

Meeting Date: March 3, 2022

From: George Williamson, Executive Officer & Kathy Bull, Office Manager

Subject: Commissioner Terms of Office

Background:

The Commission consists of seven regular commission members and four alternate commission members including the following;

County – two regular members and one alternate appointed by the Board of Supervisors, **City** – two regular members and one alternate appointed by the City Mayors Selection Committee, **Special District** – two regular members and one alternate elected by the Districts and **Public** – one regular member and one alternate member appointed by the Commission.

Discussion:

Pursuant to LAFCO statute Section 56334, the term of office of each LAFCO member shall be four years or until the appointment and qualification of his or her successor. Unless a new member appointment is earlier made by the Board of Supervisors or the City Selection Committee, or by vote of the Independent Special Districts. The expiration date of the term of office of each member shall be the last Monday in January in the year in which the term of the member expires unless this Commission exercises its statutory authority to specify an alternate expiration date which shall be uniformly applied to all members; provided, however, that the length of a term of office shall not be extended more than once. Any commission membership vacancy shall be filled for the unexpired term by appointment by that body that originally appointed the member whose office has become vacant.

Below are the current Commission Members terms. Staff is waiting for information from the Board of Supervisors for any change is selections:

County – Board of Supervisors selected:				
Member Type	Term End	District/City	Member	
Regular	1/2022	District 5	Supervisor Baugh	
Regular	1/2023	District 1	Supervisor Chimenti	
Alternate	1/2021	District 3	Supervisor Rickert	

City – Mayors Section Committee selected:				
Member Type	Term End District/City		Member	
Regular	1/2023	Anderson	Councilmember Neutze	
Regular	1/2026	Redding	Councilmember Dacquisto	
Alternate	1/2025	Shasta Lake	Councilmember Morgan	

999 Mission De Oro Drive, Suite 106, Redding, CA 96003 Phone: 530.242.1112 <u>eo@shastalafco.org</u>

Special Districts – elected:					
Member Type	Term End	District/City	Member		
Regular	1/2024	Clear Creek CSD	Board Member Fust		
Regular	1/2024	A.C.I.D.	Board Member Haynes		
Alternate	1/2024	Burney Water	Board Member Ryness		

Public Member – appointed:				
Member Type	Term End	Member		
Regular	1/2026	Commissioner Russell (if elected)		
Alternate	1/2023	Commissioner Campbell		

Recommendation:

It is recommended that the Commission review, accept and file this information.