Les Baugh County Member James Yarbrough City Member Francie Sullivan City Member Larry Farr City Member Alternate

Irwin Fust Special District Member

Pam Giacomini County Member Alternate

Brenda Haynes Special District Member



Dick Fyten Public Member

David Kehoe County Member

Stephen Morgan Special District Alternate Bob Richardson
Public Member Alternate
George Williamson
Executive Officer
James M. Underwood
General Counsel
Kathy Bull
Office Manager

Agenda Item:8.b.

Meeting Date: December 1, 2016

From: George Williamson, Executive Officer & Kathy Bull, Office Manager

Subject: Executive and Fiscal Committee Meetings Policy/Procedure

Background:

It has been Shasta LAFCO's policy to have Executive Committee Meetings prior to Commission Meetings to review agenda items. Currently the Executive Committee consists of the Chairman and Vice-Chairman. There is no formal policy section in the Policy & Procedures, however, there is mention that the Commission Chairman may appoint the members of the Executive Committee.

It has been the practice to have a Fiscal Committee which currently consists of two commissioners and one alternate commissioner. The Fiscal Committee is currently operating as an Ad Hoc Committee, with no references to its existence in the Policy & Procedures.

Discussion:

The current Policy & Procedures suggest the Executive Committee and the Executive Officer be responsible for the budget and the items listed on the Commission Meetings agenda.

It has been past practice for the Executive Officer and the Fiscal Committee to be responsible for the budget. Staff has researched other LAFCO's and found there to be Fiscal/Finance/Treasurer Committee's that are responsible for the budget and monitoring of expenditures. The committees typically have two Commissioners and either the Chairman or the Vice-Chairman as a member.

Recommendation:

Staff recommends the Commission direct staff to update the Policy & Procedures to include a section specific to Executive Committee scope of duties.

Staff and Fiscal Committee recommends the Commission formally create the Fiscal Committee to include three commissioners or alternate with duties to include:

- Establish and monitor yearly budgets;
- Propose the budgetary aspect of MSR/SOI order of completion;
- Hold monthly meetings to monitor spending.