Les Baugh County Member James Yarbrough City Member Francie Sullivan City Member Larry Farr

City Member Alternate

Irwin Fust Special District Member

Pam Giacomini County Member Alternate

Brenda Haynes Special District Member



Dick Fyten Public Member

David Kehoe County Member

Stephen Morgan Special District Alternate Bob Richardson
Public Member Alternate
George Williamson
Executive Officer
James M. Underwood
General Counsel
Kathy Bull
Office Manager

# Agenda Item: 8.c.

Meeting Date: December 1, 2016

From: George Williamson, Executive Officer & Kathy Bull, Office Manager

Subject: Commissioner Terms of Office

## **Background:**

The Commission consists of seven regular commission members and four alternate commission members including the following:

**County** – two regular members and one alternate appointed by the Board of Supervisors, **City** – two regular members and one alternate appointed by the City Mayors Selection Committee,

Special District – two regular members and one alternate elected by the Districts and

Public – one regular member and one alternate member appointed by the Commission.

The term of office of each member pursuant to CKH Act § 56334 is four years and until the appointment of a successor. Any commission member vacancy shall be filled for the unexpired term by appointment by the body that originally appointed member whose membership has become vacant.

Due to recent elections within the County and Cities and term end, several changes will take place. One County member's term is ending and the Supervisor holding the alternate member seat is leaving office at end of 2016, coincident with term end. One City member holding a regular member seat is also leaving office at end of 2016, coincident with term end. The Special District alternate member has resigned.

#### **Discussion:**

Below are the current Commission Members terms and actions, if needed, for future terms /vacancies:

### **County** – Board of Supervisors selected:

- Current Regular Member term 12/2015 to 12/2019
   –held by Supervisor Baugh
- Current Regular Member term 12/2012 to 12/2016—held by Supervisor Kehoe. The Board of Supervisors is requested to select representative for the 12/2016 to 12/2020 term
- Current Alternate Member term 12/2012 to 12/2016 held by Supervisor Giacomini. The Board of Supervisors is requested to select representative for the 12/2016 to 12/2020 term

## City - Mayors Section Committee selected:

- Current Regular Member term 1/2016 to 1/2020—held by Redding City Councilmember Sullivan
- Current Regular Member term 12/2012 to 12/2016—held by Anderson City Councilmember Yarbrough. The Mayors Section Committee is requested to select representative for 12/2016 to 12/2020 term
- Current Alternate Member term 1/2015 to 11/2019—held by Shasta Lake City Councilmember Farr

#### **Special District** - elected:

- Current Regular Member term 8/2016 to 8/2020—held by Special District Board Member Fust
- Current Regular Member term 8/2016 to 8/2020–held by Special District Board Member Haynes
- Current Alternate Member term 8/2016 to 8/2020—held by Special District Board Member Morgan.
   Due to Mr. Morgan's 12/2016 resignation, a Special District election is needed for replacement.

The special district members selection process is set forth in Government Code § 56332. This provides for a meeting of representatives from each of the Shasta County independent special districts unless the Executive Officer determines that a meeting is not feasible, due to the likelihood that a quorum would not be achieved. In that case, both the nominating process and the election are conducted by the Executive Officer on behalf of the Independent Special District Selection Committee.

# Public Members - appointed:

- Current Regular Member term 9/2013 to 9/2017–held by Fyten
- Current Alternate Member term 12/2014 to 12/2018–held by Richardson

## **Recommendation:**

It is recommended that the Commission direct staff to notify the County Clerk and The Mayors Selection Committee to make the appointments as described above by in January 2016.

In addition the Executive Officer will proceed with the following schedule for fill the Special District Alternate Member seat.

Call for nominations letter sent certified mail	December 1 2016
Nominations due to LAFCo	By 5:00 p.m., February 1, 2017
Ballots mailed from LAFCo via certified mail	February 3, 2017
Election Day – Ballots due to LAFCo	By 5:00 p.m., April 3, 2017
Election results mailed via certified mail	No later than April 7, 2017