Les Baugh County Member Larry Farr City Member Stan Neutze City Member Francie Sullivan City Member Alternate

Irwin Fust Special District Member Mary Rickert County Member Alternate

Brenda Haynes

Special District Member



Vacant Public Member

David Kehoe County Member

Patricia A. Clarke Special District Alternate

Bob Richardson Public Member Alternate George Williamson **Executive Officer** James M. Underwood General Counsel Kathy Bull Office Manager

Agenda Item: 8.d.

Meeting Date: October 5, 2017

George Williamson, Executive Officer & Kathy Bull, Office Manager From:

Consider Executive Committee Member Appointment Subject:

Background:

Shasta LAFCO Policy and Procedures, Chapter 1 provides that an Executive Committee meets as needed to discuss agency budgets and other agency issues and serves in an advisory role to the full Commission. The Executive Committee is comprised of the Chairman, Vice-Chairman and one other commission member. The third member should represent a commissioner type (County, City, Special District, Public) not already represented by the chair and vice-chair.

Discussion:

The current members of the Executive Committee include Irwin Fust, Chairman (Special Districts) and Larry Farr, Vice-Chairman (City). Dick Fyten, (Public) was a member of the Executive Committee whose Commission term of office expired September 2017. The vacant position should therefore, according to policy, be filled with either a County or Public member.

The Commission has the option to either appoint a County member as the third member of the Executive Committee today, or wait until the February 2018 to appoint a new Public member.

Recommendation:

Staff recommends the Commission appoint a third Commissioner to the Executive Committee as provided for in Chapter 1 of the Shasta LAFCO Policies and Procedures, or provide staff direction as needed.