Les Baugh County Member Larry Farr City Member

Stan Neutze City Member

Francie Sullivan City Member Alternate Irwin Fust Special District Member

Mary Rickert County Member Alternate

Brenda Haynes Special District Member



Dick Fyten Public Member

David Kehoe County Member

Vacant Special District Alternate

Bob Richardson Public Member Alternate George Williamson **Executive Officer** James M. Underwood

General Counsel

Office Manager

Kathy Bull

Agenda Item: 9.c.

Meeting Date: February 2, 2017

> From: George Williamson, Executive Officer & Kathy Bull, Office Manager

Subject: Commissioners Terms of Office

Background:

The Commission consists of seven regular commission members and four alternate commission members including the following;

County – two regular members and one alternate appointed by the Board of Supervisors, City – two regular members and one alternate appointed by the City Mayors Selection Committee, Special District – two regular members and one alternate elected by the Districts and **Public** – one regular member and one alternate member appointed by the Commission.

The term of office of each member pursuant to CKH Act § 56334 is four years and until the appointment of a successor. Any commission member vacancy shall be filled for the unexpired term by appointment by the body that originally appointed member whose membership has become vacant. Due to recent elections within the County and Cities and term ends, several changes have taken place. The current commissioners and terms are listed below:

Discussion:

Below are the current Commission Members terms:

County - Board of Supervisors selected:

- Current Regular Member12/2015 to 12/2019 term, held by Supervisor Baugh
- Current Regular Member 12/2016 to 12/2020 term, Supervisor Kehoe re-appointed
- Current Alternate Member 12/2016 to 12/2020 term, Supervisor Rickert appointed

City - Mayors Section Committee selected:

- Current Regular Member term 1/2016 to 1/2020 held by Shasta Lake City Councilmember Farr
- Current Regular Member term 12/2016 to 12/2020, Anderson City Councilmember Stan Neutze appointed
- Current Alternate Member term 1/2015 to 11/2019, held by Redding City Councilmember Sullivan

Special District - elected:

- Current Regular Member term 8/2016 to 8/2020, held by Special District Board Member Fust
- Current Regular Member term 8/2016 to 8/2020, held by Special District Board Member Haynes
- Current Alternate Member term 8/2016 to 8/2020 is vacant, a Special District election is being held

Public Members - appointed:

- Current Regular Member term 9/2013 to 9/2017, held by Public Member Fyten
- Current Alternate Member term 12/2014 to 12/2018, held by Public Member Richardson

1255 East Street, Suite 201, Redding, CA 96002 Office: 530.242.1112 ~ Fax: 530.242.1113 exec@shasta.LAFCO.ca.gov

As a note, information on the City Mayoral Section Committee to provide Shasta LAFCO with commission members follows and is sited from Government Code 50270-50279:

50270. In any county in which two or more cities are incorporated there is hereby created a city selection committee the purpose of which shall be to appoint city representatives to boards, commissions, and agencies as required by law. The membership of each such city selection committee shall consist of the mayor of each city within the county.

50270.5. As used in this article, "clerk" means the clerk of a county or the legislative body thereof. Where the office of county clerk is separate from the office of clerk of the board of supervisors, "clerk" means the clerk of the board of supervisors.

50271. When the mayor is unable to attend a meeting of a city selection committee, the mayor shall designate another member of the city's legislative body to attend and vote at the meeting as the mayor's representative.

50272. Representatives of a majority of the number of cities within a county entitled to representation on the city selection committee shall constitute a quorum of the committee; provided, however, that a majority vote of the representatives of the number of cities within a county entitled to representation on the committee is necessary to appoint representatives to boards, commissions, or agencies. Whenever a quorum is not present at a meeting of any city selection committee, the meeting shall be postponed or adjourned to a subsequent time and place, as determined by the chairman.