Les Baugh County Member Larry Farr City Member

Michael Dacquisto

City Member Alternate

Stan Neutze

City Member

Irwin Fust Special District Member

Mary Rickert County Member Alternate

Brenda Haynes Special District Member



Larry Russell Public Member

Joe Chimenti County Member

Patricia A. Clarke Special District Alternate Katharine Ann Campbell Public Member Alternate George Williamson Executive Officer James M. Underwood General Counsel

> Kathy Bull Manager

## Agenda Item: 8.b.

**Meeting Date:** February 6, 2020

From: George Williamson, Executive Officer & Kathy Bull, Office Manager

**Subject:** Commissioner Terms of Office

## **Background:**

The Commission consists of seven regular commission members and four alternate commission members including the following:

**County** – two regular members and one alternate appointed by the Board of Supervisors,

City – two regular members and one alternate appointed by the City Mayors Selection Committee,

Special District - two regular members and one alternate elected by the Districts and

**Public** – one regular member and one alternate member appointed by the Commission.

The term of office of each member pursuant to CKH Act § 56334 is four years and until the appointment of a successor. Any commission member vacancy shall be filled for the unexpired term by appointment by the body that originally appointed member whose membership has become vacant.

## **Discussion:**

The special district members selection process is set forth in Government Code § 56332. This provides for a meeting of representatives from each of the Shasta County independent special districts unless the Executive Officer determines that a meeting is not feasible, due to the likelihood that a quorum would not be achieved. In that case, both the nominating process and the election are conducted by the Executive Officer on behalf of the Independent Special District Selection Committee.

Currently, the special district members term have expired, however, according to the Cortese Knox Hertzberg Act, those members may continue to serve until members to serve new terms are selected.

Below are the current Commission Members terms and actions, if needed, for future terms/vacancies:

County – Board of Supervisors selected:				
Member Type	Term Begin	Term End	District/City	Member
Regular	1/2018	1/2022	District 5	Supervisor Baugh
Regular	1/2019	1/2023	District 1	Supervisor Chimenti
Alternate	1/2017	1/2021	District 3	Supervisor Rickert

exec@shasta.lafco.ca.gov

February 6, 2020 Agenda Item 8.b.

City – Mayors Section Committee selected:				
Member Type	Term Begin	Term End	District/City	Member
Regular	1/2019	1/2023	Anderson	Councilmember Neutze
Regular	1/2017	1/2021	Shasta Lake	Councilmember Farr
Alternate	1/2018	1/2022	Redding	Councilmember Dacquisto

Special Districts – elected:				
Member Type	Term Begin	Term End	District/City	Member
Regular	8/2016	1/2020	Clear Creek CSD	Board Member Fust
Regular	8/2016	1/2020	A.C.I.D.	Board Member Haynes
Alternate	4/2017	1/2020	Anderson FD	Board Member Clark

Public Member – appointed:			
Member Type	Term Begin	Term End	Member
Regular	12/2018	1/2022	Commissioner Russell
Alternate	1/2019	1/2023	Commissioner Campbell

## **Recommendation:**

It is recommended that the Commission direct staff to proceed with the following schedule to fill the two Special District Regular Member and one Special District Alternate Member seat.

Action	Date of Action
Call for nominations letter via certified mail	February 7, 2020
Nominations due to LAFCo	April 1, 2020
Ballots mailed from LAFCo via certified mail	April 3, 2020
Election Day – Ballots due to LAFCo	June 3, 2020
Election results mailed via certified mail	No later than June 5, 2020